I didn’t win!

So  the Literary Death Match in the Grand Social was brilliant craic, but I didn’t win.

I stood up on stage, wearing a dress dress and glasses, and read the snake fight scene from The Pleasures of Winter. The light on stage wasn’t great, and I had put edits in with a pencil, so I was squinting, trying to see if that scribbled word was “snake” or “strike”.

I had no idea how embarrassing reading out a sexy scene to an audience would be.  I quickly realised this audience weren’t expected four pieces of literature being read out sedately. They were expecting performance! And when Jack took Abbie in his arms and kissed her, I could see the audience holding their breath, wondering exactly how explicit this was going to get.

David Rudden, author of “The Borrowed Dark” said lots of nice things about my writing, but the prize went to Alvy Carraghar with Numb.

About Eileen Gormley

Writer
This entry was posted in Books. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

